With the accessions in March of Montenegro and Rwanda, the number of Contracting States to the Hague Intercountry Adoption Convention has reached a total of 87.  For details, see the Hague Conference web site at www.hcch.net.  

Information from the U.S. State Department indicates that the governments in Laos, Bhutan, Cambodia and Senegal  have recently announced suspension of intercountry adoption until appropriate regulations and procedures can be implemented. Cambodia and Senegal have acceded to the Adoption Convention, but Laos and Bhutan have not. See the “News and Alerts” section of the State Department adoption web page athttp://adoption.state.gov/country_information/alerts_notices.php.